Ethiopia Angola Uganda Eritrea Swaziland Central African Republic Gabon Algeria Cape Verde Senegal Sudan Somalia Cameroon Congo Democratic Republic of Congo Morocco Niger Benin Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Chad Tanzania Togo Tunisia Comoros South Africa South Sudan Djibouti Rwanda Zambia Zimbabwe Sao Tome and Principe Sierra Leone Gambia Ghana Guinea Equatorial Guinea Guinea-Bissau  Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liberia Lesotho Malawi Mali Madagascar Egypt Mauritania Mauritius Mozambique Namibia Nigeria

South Africa opens borders to African countries

  • 2020-10-01 06:21:41
  • News

South Africa has opened its borders to travellers from all African countries, but has retained restrictions against countries with higher coronavirus infection rates including the UK, the US and Russia.

The country closed its borders in March to limit the spread of the virus.

It will from Thursday reopen some land borders and its three main airports in Cape Town, Durban and Johannesburg.

The Foreign Minister, Naledi Pandor, said all arriving travellers must have tested negative for Covid-19 from their countries and will be screened on arrival.

Travellers from countries whose infection and death rate are higher than South Africa will not be allowed into the country for leisure.

"Only citizens who are investors, diplomats, high-skills visa holders and businesspeople [coming from the high-risk countries] will be allowed, Ms Pandor told journalists on Wednesday.

Travellers who exhibit coronavirus symptoms or test positive will incur all the medical expenses.

South Africa has been the worse hit country by the pandemic in Africa. It has so far confirmed 674,000 cases, about half the number reported in Africa.