Ethiopia Angola Uganda Eritrea Swaziland Central African Republic Gabon Algeria Cape Verde Senegal Sudan Somalia Cameroon Congo Democratic Republic of Congo Morocco Niger Benin Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Chad Tanzania Togo Tunisia Comoros South Africa South Sudan Djibouti Rwanda Zambia Zimbabwe Sao Tome and Principe Sierra Leone Gambia Ghana Guinea Equatorial Guinea Guinea-Bissau  Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liberia Lesotho Malawi Mali Madagascar Egypt Mauritania Mauritius Mozambique Namibia Nigeria

Malawi government 'dissolves boards of 60 parastatals'

  • 2020-07-01 07:26:41
  • News

The government in Malawi has dissolved the boards of 60 parastatals, according to the state broadcaster.

The Malawi Broadcasting Corporation said the dissolution was with immediate effect quoting a statement from the government chief secretary.

Among the dissolved boards is that of the state broadcaster, the communication regulatory authority, the bureau of standards, the electricity supply commission, national examination board, education institute and various medical boards.

The state broadcaster did not give a reason for the desolution.

Malawi's President Lazarus Chakwera who was sworn in on Sunday vowed to unite the country, fight poverty and enhance government's service delivery.

President Chakwera was elected in a re-run after former president Peter Mutharika’s win last year was nullified by the court over irregularities.